29 August 2021

European Championships for Young Drivers: Gold for Germany, Silver for the Netherlands

After a fantastic week of sport, the German young drivers claimed the top of the podium with the team gold medal beating out the Netherlands (silver) and France (bronze).

Time was the deciding factor

An extremely difficult cones course was the deciding factor on Sunday. A technical and turning course made the time allowed almost impossible to achieve.  The few double clear rounds of the day caused serious shake-ups on the leaderboard.

Kris Rohrsson (IRL) drove an excellent dressage and cones which clinched the gold medal in the Childrens Pony division. Silver went to Philipp Stolzenberger (GER) and bronze to Lise Pallen (BEL).

The Junior single pony division was a completely Dutch, with Jur Baijens moving up to gold after a great drive in cones, followed by teammates Renate Provoost and Sam Couwenberg.

In the Junior pair pony division dressage and marathon winner Konrad Gerwelen (GER) claimed gold with teammate Lea Schröder in second and Péter Juhász in third.

Lisa Maria Tischer claimed the gold medal in the Young Drivers single pony division just keeping ahead of Valentine Lenormand (FRA) who with one of the rare double clear rounds made a leap up the leaderboard. Dirk Bastiaansen (NL) won the bronze medal.

Dressage and marathon winner Anouk de Haas (NL) won gold in the Young Drivers pair pony division with a considerable lead over silver and bronze medal winners Lena Hensel(GER) and Sara Bombelli (ITA).

And finally there was quite a shake up in the Young Driver single horse division as Anne Unzeitig (GER) reclaimed top position and the gold medal with a spectacular clear drive in cones edging out Marie Schiltz (LUX) and Corne Boisteau (FRA)


Gold for Germany

The German team defended their 2018 gold medal and came home with three individual gold medals and three silver medals in the various age categories. “The young drivers have done a wonderful job, one by one they all performed so well”,  tells team coach Dieter Lauterbach. “We are very happy that we were able to prolong our 2018 title, and this year it was great to have teams from eleven different nations .”

Click here for the results

Het zilveren team v.l.n.r: Hans Zumbrink, Jacco de Koning, Kim de Groot, Joris Lauwers, Renate Provoost, Sam Couwenberg, Dirk Bastiaansen
Photo: Karolina Swärdh

Copyright reserved. Acquisition without acknowledgment and permission from info@hoefnet.nl is not allowed.