11 augustus 2009

Pony Driving World gathers in Greven-Bockholt

From 13 to 16 August, the focus of the Driving World is set on Greven-Bockholt in Germany for the fourth edition of the World Combined Pony Driving Championships.

The Championship offers an attractive side programme with shows of e.g. stallions of the Nordrhein-Westfalen studbook from Warendorf, historical carriages and historical automobiles.

More information: www.greven2009.de


Wednesday, 12th August:
09.00 hrs.: veterinary inspection
20.00 hrs.: Nations Night

Thursday, 13th August:
08.00 hrs.: dressage single ponies
15.15 hrs.: dressage pony pairs (first part)
19.30 hrs.: Opening Ceremony

Friday, 14th August:
08.00 hrs.: dressage pony pairs (second half)
13.00 hrs.: dressage pony teams
ca. 17.30 hrs.: prize giving ceremony
19.30 hrs.: Varieté Dinner

Saturday, 15th August:
08.30 hrs.: marathon single ponies, pony pairs and pony teams
20.45 hrs.: prize giving ceremony

Sunday, 16th August:
08.30 hrs.: obstacle driving single ponies
followed by prize giving ceremony
12.00 hrs: obstacle driving pony pairs
followed by prize giving ceremony
15.30 hrs: obstacle driving pony teams
followed by prize giving ceremony
ca. 18.00 hrs: Award ceremony

Germany’s Dr. Wolfgang Asendorf, who was also responsible for the course at the World Equestrian Games in Aachen in 2006, is responsible for the course design in Greven. The Jury is chaired by Hans-Peter Rüschlin from Switzerland and is completed by Gé König from the Netherlands, Klaus Peppersack from Germany, Anne Marie Turbé from France and Andrew Counsell from Great Britain.

Title holders of the World Combined Pony Driving Championships 2007 in Dorthealyst Jan de Boer from the Netherlands (pony team), USA’s Miranda Cadwell (pony pair) and Peter Koux from Denmark (single pony) will be present in Greven to defend their World titles. Germany has the advantage of defending its golden team medal on home soil.

Jan de Boer (NED) defends his title in the four-in-hand class

Ninety drivers from eighteen nations will compete in the single, pair and four-in-hand classes for the individual titles. Nine nations teams will battle for the team medals at the site of riding and driving centre Greven-Bockholt in Greven, a small village close to the Northern German city of Münster.
Each nations team consists of minimum one and maximum two single, pair and four-in-hand drivers. In addition, the Championship is open to individual competitors (maximum one per nation per class) as well.
Greven hosted national and international driving competitions for many years and the Organising Committee was also responsible for the 2008 World Driving Championship for the disabled.